Tags

, , , , ,

Now, I am not the most religious of people (in fact I am 100% atheist) but when I had a chance to see Liverpool’s Anglican Cathedral this morning, I was pretty excited. I love the architecture of cathedrals, and I had never even seen a picture of Liverpool’s offerings, let alone knew that they had two.

To get to the Cathedral we wound our way through rows of old Georgian town houses, packed tight in with trees, then suddenly it all opens up and you see the almost overpowering grandness of the Anglican Cathedral.

I apologise for the quality of these photos, I was a bit rushed and I have only access to my Iphone camera at the moment, needless to say I couldn’t quite capture the splendor one can see with their eyes.

If only I could fit it all in!

If only I could fit it all in!

Once inside, you are cocooned by the warmth of the stone used and the complementary up lights into the arches in the ceiling throwing gothic shadows.

‘I felt you and I knew you loved me’

‘I felt you and I knew you loved me’

This is the nave (lowered part) and here as well as all around the Cathedral is various different types of art works. This piece, ‘I felt you and I knew you loved me’ written in pink neon letters, made by the notorious Tracey Emin was commissioned as the Cathedral’s contribution to Liverpool’s Year as European Capital of Culture 2008.

I think it is safe to say there is no other work like it in any other Cathedral. I personally think it is fabulous!

15I also rather liked this piece of artwork, hidden round the side. The pebble was polished so smooth and balanced just so that it could fall at any moment.

The Cathedral is so grand and alluring inside, and as tall as tall can be. Think how wonderful it must be with a full ceremony taking place.

13 9

4If you continue to walk down and slip down the side of the pews, you will find this little secret place…

22A secret door? With little stone steps leading you down…

17If you creep down the steps, it is so silent one has to tip toe down. You end up in Her Lady’s Chapel, which is by far my favourite part of the Cathedral.

18 19

Small, but more grand and ornate than the rest of the chapel, with achingly beautiful ceilings and wonderful lights hanging down, I had the place to myself, so spent a bit of time breathing it all in, and admiring the altar.

20Unfortunatly, we had to be on our way shortly, and I was unable to go up and visit the tower, hopefully I will be able to go back and have a twilight tour and see the sights of the city.

More information on the Cathedral can be found here

I will keep you posted on the rest of my sightseeing.

B

